Inside the Exhibition: Paris 1900

Inside the Exhibition: Paris 1900

 
Play/Pause Episode
00:00 / 00:20:10
Rewind 30 Seconds
1X

This episode idea was suggested to us by Museum member, Clint Kamstra. Clint wanted to know more about what it takes to curate an exhibition, specifically “Paris 1900: City of Entertainment”. Because this exhibition did not originate at the Portland Art Museum, it gives us an opportunity to detail the decisions made in creating an exhibition calendar, with a focus on traveling exhibitions, such as “Paris 1900”.

Paris 1900: City of Entertainment” opens on June 8, and runs through September 8, 2019

Featured in this episode:
Brian Ferriso, Marilyn H. and Dr. Robert B. Pamplin, Jr. Director and Chief Curator
Mary Weaver Chapin, Curator of Prints and Drawings
Jon Richardson, Podcast Producer

Mentioned in this episode:
Kamstra.co
Hank Willis Thomas: All Things Being Equal – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/hank-willis-thomas/
the map is not the territoryportlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/the-map-is-not-the-territory/
The Body Beautiful – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/body-beautiful/
Quest for Beauty: The Architecture, Landscapes, and Collections of John Yeon – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/quest-for-beauty/
Paris 1900 at the Petit Palais – petitpalais.paris.fr/en/collections/paris-1900
FRAME – FrameMuseums.org
Paris 1900 at the Frist – fristartmuseum.org/calendar/detail/paris-1900-city-of-entertainment
China Design Now – fastcompany.com/1424037/portland-art-museum-tells-story-chinas-newest-dynasty-design
Cyclepedia – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/cyclepedia/
The Allure of the Automobile – wweek.com/portland/blog-27260-the-allure-of-the-automobile.html
The Shape of Speed – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/shape-of-speed/
Italian Style – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/italian-style/
Animating Life: The Art, Science, and Wonder of LAIKA – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/animating-life/
Art and Race Matters: The Career of Robert Colescott – portlandartmuseum.org/exhibitions/art-and-race-matters/
Moulin Rouge! – wikipedia.org/wiki/Moulin_Rouge!
Coco Before Chanel – wikipedia.org/wiki/Coco_Before_Chanel
Gigi – wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigi_(1958_film)
The Dreyfus Affair – britannica.com/event/Dreyfus-affair
Paris anarchists – nytimes.com/2016/04/30/opinion/the-first-global-terrorists-were-anarchists-in-the-1890s.html
“The Violet Seller” – eclecticlightdotcom.files.wordpress.com/2018/03/pelezmartyrvioletvendor.jpg
A Trip to the Moon – wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Trip_to_the_Moon
The Divine Sarah – wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarah_Bernhardt
The Moulin Rouge – wikipedia.org/wiki/Moulin_Rouge

 

Want to submit an idea for a future episode of the podcast? Fill out the form at pam.to/podcastidea – if your idea fits within the scope of the Museum’s mission, we can work together to bring it to life.

A transcript of this episode can be found at portlandartmuseum.org/podcast

Interested in learning more about Portland Art Museum and Northwest Film Center’s exhibitions and programs? Visit portlandartmuseum.org or nwfilm.org and follow us on social media:
Twitter: @PDXArtMuseum | @NWFilmCenter
Instagram: @PortlandArtMuseum | @NWFilmCenter
Facebook: facebook.com/portlandartmuseum | facebook.com/nwfilmcenter
YouTube: youtube.com/portlandartmuseum | youtube.com/NorthwestFilmCenter